
Division of Hemato-Oncology, Department of Internal Medicine, Yeungnam University College of Medicine, Daegu, Korea
© 2026 Yeungnam University College of Medicine, Yeungnam University Institute of Medical Science
This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
| Study name | KEYNOTE-522 [8,9] | NeoTRIPaPDL1 [10] | IMpassion031 [11] | GeparNUEVO [12] (phase II) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Population | T1c N1-2 or T2-4 N0-2 TNBC (n=1,174) | Early high-risk or locally advanced TNBC (n=280) | cT2-4 cN0-3 TNBC (n=333) | T1b-T4a-d TNBC (n=174) |
| Random | 2:1 (784/390) | 1:1 (138/142) | 1:1 (165/168) | 1:1 (88/86) |
| Anti-PD-1/PD-L1 therapy | Pembrolizumab | Atezolizumab | Atezolizumab | Durvalumab |
| Treatment | A: carboplatin and paclitaxel+pembrolizumab → AC/EC → surgery → pembrolizumab | A: carboplatin and nab-paclitaxel+atezolizumab → surgery → AC/EC | A: atezolizumab → nabpaclitaxel → AC | A: durvalumab+nabpaclitaxel → EC |
| B: carboplatin and paclitaxel+placebo → AC/EC → surgery → placebo | B: carboplatin and nab-paclitaxel → surgery → AC/EC | B: placebo → nabpaclitaxel → AC | B: placebo+nabpaclitaxel → EC | |
| Primary endpoint | pCR, defined as pathological stage ypT0/Tis ypN0 at the time of definitive surgery | pCR | pCR | pCR (ypT0/ypN0) |
| IC testing positive (IC 1+, 2+, 3+) vs. no (IC 0) | Secondary endpoint: | |||
| •Response by other pCR definitions (ypT0/Tis ypN0, ypT0/Tis ypN0/+, and ypN0) | ||||
| •Efficacy in predefined subgroups according to centrally assessed sTILs: low (≤10%), intermediate (11%–59%), high (≥60%) | ||||
| PD-L1 definition | CPS ≥1 | IC 0 (IC <1%) | IC ≥1 | TC, IC ≥1% in one or both of these percentages |
| IC 1+ (IC >1% and <5%) | ||||
| IC 2+/3+ (IC ≥5%) | ||||
| PD-L1+ population | 656 (83.7 %) | 156 (IC 1+ 102; IC 2–3+ 54) | PD-L1 status (atezo/CTx-placebo/CTx | PD-L1 (durvalumab/placebo) |
| Positive: 9/11 | ||||
| Positive: 78 (47%), 76 (45%) | Negative: 69/69 | |||
| Negative: 87 (53%), 92(55% | Missing: 10 | |||
| Assay | 22C3 pharmDx assay | VENTANA SP142 assay | ||
| pCR | 260 vs. 103 (p<0.001) | ITT: 48.6% vs. 44.4% | ITT: 95 (57.6%) vs. 69 (41.1%), p=0.0044 | ITT: 53.4% vs. 44.2% |
| ITT: 63% vs. 55.6% | PD-L1 positive: 51.9% vs. 48% (no significant, p=0.48) | PD-L1 positive: 58% vs. 50.7% | ||
| PD-L1 positive: 45.3% (29 of 64) | Multivariate analysis of pCR | PD-L1 positive: 53 (68.8%) vs. 37 (49.3%), p=0.021 | Window-cohort: 61.0% vs. 41.4% | |
| PD-L1 negative: 30.3% (10 of 33) | Positive vs. negative 2.08 (1.64–2.65), p<0.0001 | Not significant | ||
| EFS | 3-year EFS: 84.5% vs. 76.8% (HR, 0.63; 95% CI, 0.48–0.82; p<0.001) | Not reported | Not reported | 3-year iDFS: 84.9% vs. 76.9% |
| 3-year OS: 95.1% vs. 83.1% (EFS benefit) |
| Study name | IMpassion130 [13,14] phase III | IMpassion 131 [15] phase III | Keynote-355 [16,17] phase III | TBCRC043 [18] phase II |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Population | mTNBC (902) | mTNBC (651) | mTNBC (847) | 130 |
| Random | 1:1 | 2:1 | 2:1 | 1:1 |
| Anti-PD-1/PD-L1 therapy | Atezolizumab | Atezolizumab | Pembrolizumab | Atezolizumab |
| CTx | Nab-paclitaxel | Paclitaxel | Nab-paclitaxel | Atezolizumab/carboplatin 56 |
| Paclitaxel | Carboplatin 50 | |||
| Carboplatin/gemcitabine | ||||
| Primary endpoint | PFS and OS in ITT and PD-L1 | PFS in PD-L1 positive and ITT (hierarchical) | PFS and OS in PD-L1 CPS score ≥10, ≥1, and ITT (hierarchical) | PFS |
| PD-L1 definition | IC >1 | IC >1 | CPS >1 and CPS >10 | IC >1 |
| PD-L1+ population | Total 368 | Placebo/PAC (101) | CPS ≥1 (636) | IC >1: 22.2% (20 of 90) |
| IC >1% and <5% (243) | Ate/PAC (191) | CPS ≥10 (323) | Most (90%) had PD-L1 positivity on stromal/immune cells, with only 2 specimens with PD-L1–positive tumor cells | |
| PD-L1 IC >5% (125) | ||||
| Assay | SP142 | SP142 | 22C3 | SP 142 |
| PFS (mo) | ITT: 7.2 vs. 5.5 (HR, 0.80; 95% CI, 0.69–0.92; p=0.002) | ITT: 5.7 vs. 5.6 (HR, 0.86; 95% CI, 0.70–1.05) | ITT: 7.5 vs. 5.6 (HR, 0.82; 95% CI, 0.70–0.98) | Median PFS |
| PD-L1: 7.5 vs. 5.3 (HR, 0.63; 95% CI, 0.50–0.80) | PD-L1: 6.0 vs. 5.7 (HR, 0.82; 95% CI, 0.60–1.12; p=0.20) | PD-L1 CPS ≥10: 9.7 vs. 5.6 (HR, 0.66; 95% CI, 0.50–0.88) | 4.1 vs. 2.2 (HR, 0.66; p=0.05) | |
| PD-L1 CPS ≥1: 7.5 vs. 5.6 (HR, 0.75; 95% CI, 0.62–0.91) | Regardless of PD-L1 status | |||
| OS (mo) | ITT: 21.0 vs. 18.7 (HR 0.87; 95% CI, 0.75–1.02; p=0.08) | ITT: 19.2 vs. 22.8 (HR, 1.12; 95% CI, 0.88–1.43) | ITT: 17.2 vs. 15.5 (HR, 0.89; 95%CI, 0.76–1.05) | Median OS |
| PD-L1: 25.4 vs. 17.9 (HR, 0.67; 95% CI, 0.53–0.86) | PD-L1: 22.1 vs. 28.3 (HR, 1.11; 95% CI, 0.76–1.64) | PD-L1 CPS ≥10: 23.0 vs. 16.1 (HR, 0.73; 95% CI, 0.55–0.95; p=0.0185) | 12.6 vs. 8.6 (HR, 0.60; p=0.03) | |
| PD-L1 CPS ≥1: 17.6 vs. 16.0 (HR, 0.86; 95% CI, 0.72–1.04, p=0.1125) |
| Category | Study/ Trial ID | Phase | Setting | Population/eligibility | Arm/backbone | Number | Primary endpoint/result (mo) | ORR | PFS (mo) | OS (mo) | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADC+PD-1 | ASCENT-04/KEYNOTE-D19 [54] | Phase III | 1L mTNBC, PD-L1 CPS ≥10 | Untreated mTNBC; PD-L1–positive | Sacituzumab govitecan+pembrolizumab vs. chemo (gem/carb or taxane)+pembrolizumab | 443 total (1:1) | PFS 11.2 vs. 7.8; HR 0.65; p<0.001 | 59.7% vs. 43.2% (CR 13% vs. 8%) | 11.2 vs. 7.8 | Immature (HR 0.89) | Potential new 1L standard in PD-L1+ mTNBC |
| ADC+PD-1 | NCT03310957 [55] | Phase Ib/II (ongoing) | 1L mTNBC | Unresectable locally advanced or mTNBC | Ladiratuzumab vedotin+pembrolizumab | NA | Early-phase signal; ongoing | NA | NA | NA | Early-phase investigation |
| PARP+PD-1 | KEYNOTE-162 [56] | Phase I/II | Pre-treated TNBC | BRCA-mutated TNBC (per user summary) | Niraparib+pembrolizumab | NA | Preliminary clinical activity; acceptable safety | NA | NA | NA | Preliminary signal |
| PARP+PD-1 | KEYLYNK-009 [57] | Phase II/III | Post-induction mTNBC | All-comers; PD-L1 CPS ≥10 subgroup; BRCA-mut subgroup | Olaparib+pembrolizumab vs. chemo+pembrolizumab | 271 total; PD-L1 CPS ≥10 n=130; BRCA-mut n=59 | OS (25.1 vs. 23.4) PFS (5.5 vs. 5.6) (NS) | NA | 5.5 vs. 5.6 (overall); BRCA-mut 12.4 vs. 8.4 | 25.1 vs. 23.4 (NS) | Benefit signal in BRCA-mut subgroup |
| PARP+PD-L1 | DORA (NCT03167619) [58] | Phase II | Maintenance in platinum-sensitive mTNBC | Responders (CR/PR/SD) to prior platinum | Olaparib vs. olaparib+durvalumab | 22 vs. 23 | Both arms improved vs. historical platinum continuation | NA | 6.1 (combo) vs. 4.0 (mono) | NA | Chemo-free maintenance strategy |
| PARP+PD-L1 | NCT03594396 [59] | Phase I/II | Neoadjuvant (pre-NACT) | TNBC/ER-low; stage II–III | Short course olaparib+one dose durvalumab → standard NACT | 40 evaluable for surgery | pCR 75% (30/40) after NACT | NA | NA | NA | Preliminary; peer-reviewed full text pending |
| PI3Kγ+PD-L1 | MARIO-3 [60] | Phase II (single-arm) | 1L mTNBC | All-comers, PD-L1-agnostic | Eganelisib+atezolizumab+nab-paclitaxel | NA | ORR ~55%; DCR 84% | ~55% | NA | NA | Signal regardless of PD-L1 |
| AKT+PD-L1 | NCT03800836 [61] | Phase Ib | 1L mTNBC | NA | Ipatasertib+atezolizumab+paclitaxel/nab-paclitaxel | NA | ORR 44%–63%; mPFS 5.4–7.4 | 44%–63% | 5.4–7.4 | NA | |
| AKT+PD-L1 | IPATunity130 (NCT03337724) [62] | Phase III | 1L mTNBC | NA | Ipatasertib+atezolizumab+paclitaxel vs. placebo+paclitaxel | 168 vs. 87 | Negative: PFS 7.4 vs. 6.1 (HR 1.02); OS 24.4 vs. 24.9 (HR 1.08) | NA | 7.4 vs. 6.1 (NS) | 24.4 vs. 24.9 (NS) | No significant improvement |
| Anti-angiogenic+PD-L1 | ATRACTIB [63] | Phase II (single-arm) | 1L locally advanced metastatic TNBC | All-comers; PD-L1–unselected | Atezolizumab+paclitaxel+bevacizumab | NA | Primary met: mPFS 11.0; ORR 63% (CR 14%) | 63% (CR 14%) | 11.0 (PD-L1–neg: 9.3) | 24.5 in PD-L1–neg (descriptive) | Signal in PD-L1–negative tumors |
| Anti-angiogenic+PD-1 | NCT03394287 [64] | Phase II (single-arm) | Later-line mTNBC | Pre-treated | Camrelizumab+apatinib | NA | ORR 43.3%; mPFS 3.7 | 43.3% | 3.7 | NA | Chemo-free doublet |
| Anti-angiogenic+PD-1+chemo | NCT04303741 [65] | Phase II (single-arm) | Later-line mTNBC | Heavily pretreated; PD-L1–irrespective | Camrelizumab+apatinib+eribulin | NA | ORR 37%; mPFS 8.1; DCR 87% | 37% | 8.1 | NA | Manageable toxicity |
| Anti-angiogenic+PD-1 | LEAP-005 TNBC cohort [66] | Phase II (single-arm) | Post-line mTNBC | ≥1 prior lines | Lenvatinib+pembrolizumab | NA | ORR 32%; mPFS 5.1; mOS 11.4 | 32% | 5.1 | 11.4 | Manageable safety |
| Anti-angiogenic+PD-1+chemo | NeoPanDa03 [67] | Phase II (exploratory) | Neoadjuvant (stage II–III) | TNBC | Camrelizumab+apatinib+chemotherapy | 34 (tpCR evaluable) | tpCR 67.6% (23/34) | NA | NA | NA | Supports VEGF-pathway modulation in neo-adjuvant setting |
PD-1, programmed cell death 1; PD-L1, programmed cell death ligand 1; TNBC, triple-negative breast cancer; AC, adriamycin cyclophosphamide; EC, epirubicin cyclophosphamide; pCR, pathological complete response; ypT0, post-treatment primary tumor stage 0; Tis, tumor in situ; ypN0, post-treatment nodal stage 0; IC, immune cells; CPS, combined positive score; sTILs, stromal tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes; TC, tumor cells; ITT, intention-to-treat; CTx, chemotherapy; HR, hazard ratio; CI, confidence interval; EFS, event-free survival; iDFS, invasive disease-free survival; OS, overall survival.
PD-1, programmed cell death 1; PD-L1, programmed cell death ligand 1; TNBC, triple-negative breast cancer; mTNBC, metastatic triple-negative breast cancer; CTx, chemotherapy; PFS, progression-free survival; OS, overall survival; ITT, intention-to-treat; IC, immune cells; CPS, combined positive score; HR, hazard ratio; CI, confidence interval.
PD-1, programmed cell death 1; PD-L1, programmed cell death ligand 1; ADC, antibody drug conjugate; PARP, poly ADP-ribose polymerase; PI3Kγ, phosphoinositide 3-kinase gamma; AKT, protein kinase B; ORR, objective response rate; PFS, progression-free survival; OS, overall survival; HR, hazard ratio; CR, complete response; NA, not applicable; 1L, first line; mTNBC, metastatic triple-negative breast cancer; CPS, combined positive score; BRCA, breast cancer gene; NS, not significant; DCR, disease control rate; mPFS, median progression-free survival; mOS, median overall survival; ER, estrogen receptor; NACT, neoadjuvant chemotherapy; pCR, pathological complete response; tpCR, total pathological complete response; VEGF, vascular endothelial growth factor.